Grade 5 – Round singing (Part 2)

Video

On Monday, I got the Grade 5s to sing 3 new round songs which I will get them to use in their last summative assessment for this quarter. The songs are “One Bottle of Pop”, “Make New Friends” and “Miss Suzy Have A Steamboat”. I have done quite an extensive research on the song title for this particular type of singing. I realize that you can’t simply pick up a song and singing it in a round. The theory of the chord progression is very closely related to this singing form.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-TdsmPHjo0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDOt4Mp4Pu0

The most intriguing song title must be “Miss suzy Have A Steamboat”. It’s a really old song from a show and there has been many variations to the words used in the song. Many variations can be found here: http://bussongs.com/songs/miss-lucy-had-a-steam-boat.php

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2T_HYbva-HQ

The words to the song are really silly and even provocative. I had seek advise from their home teacher and decided to make my own version of the song. It ended up like this:

Miss Suzy had a steam boat
The steamboat had a bell,
Miss Suzy went for swimming and
the Steamboat greet me…

Hello operator
Please give me number nine
And if you disconnect me
and I will surely cry . .

Behind the ‘fridge
There was a piece of cake
Miss Suzy picked it up
and had a bite so…

Ask me no more questions
I’ll tell you no more lies
The cats are in the bathroom
splashing water every…

Flies are in the meadow
The bees are in the park
Miss Suzy had a picnic
She does it in the…

Dark is like a movie
A movie’s like a show
A show is like a tv set
And that is all I know.

The lyrics remains just as silly as it already was and I’m  happy to report that the kids love it. I look forward to having them perform in this wonderful singing form.

Leave a Reply

