Grade 4 – Tempo and musical terms

Standard

For almost two weeks, I have been focusing on the topic of tempo with the students. They have studied the meaning of Allegro, Adagio and Andante. I find that having a vocabulary section at the back of their music exercise book really helps in building a word list for music. They can just add on terms that they have not across before in their daily life. Yesterday, they have added BPM (beats per minute) and metronome. I hope to show them the mechanical metronome one day as I have lent my metronome to a friend.

By the end of the class, some of them express curiosity why Italian is the main language used in musical terms. Although I did design an assignment related to that in the earlier quarter, but due to time constraints i was unable to finish that topic. I hope to finish this topic before this semester ends.

Leave a Reply

